The Virgin Australia Supercars Championship (formally Australian Touring Car Championship) is the premier motorsport category in Australasia and one of Australia’s biggest sports. International expansion is occurring as the sport becomes globally recognised as the best touring car category in the world and a leader in motorsport entertainment.

From 1960 to 1968 the Australian Touring Car Championship was decided by a single race. From 1969 onwards it has been determined by a series. From 1995 to 2012 it was solely the domain of the legendary Holden vs Ford battle. Its title changed from the traditional 'Australia Touring Car Championship' to the 'Shell Championship Series' in 1999.

In 2003 the series became known as the 'V8 Supercars Championship Series' and in 2011 this was simplfied to the 'V8 Supercars Championship'. 2013 was the first year for the Car of the Future (COTF). These new cars are lighter, more economical, have increased agility and are highly competitive.

Supercars deliver exhilarating and accessible motorsports-led entertainment to engaged and passionate fans, creating a proud and aligned set of partners, race teams and employees.